Florida Drivers Convicted of DUI Required to Carry Increased Car Insurance
In some good news for Florida car accident victims, Governor Crist just signed into law, a bill which will require all drivers convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, to carry a minimum of $100,000.00 in bodily injury liability insurance and $50,000.00 in property damage insurance.
This new law, known as Florida House Bill 359, significantly increases the amount of car accident insurance convicted drunk drivers are required to have, as the old law only required $10,000.00 in bodily injury liability insurance. This new law will further protect Floridians, by requiring the convicted drunk driver to keep this insurance in effect for a minimum of 3 years, assuming they have no other similar drunk driving issues.
In our practice, we have had too many occasions to represent the innocent victims and surviving family members of such car accidents. Having seen our clients suffer brain injuries, personal injury and death, we are all too familiar with the escalating medical costs and damages caused from these types of accident. We are certainly thankful that the Florida Legislature took up this matter and mandated this increased protection for all Floridians.